Daniel Thompson

VP, Development
Daniel Thompson
Daniel Thompson is SolarReserve’s Vice President of Development, responsible for the identification, initiation and delivery of utility-scale solar thermal projects and solar PV projects for SolarReserve in Australia.

Thompson leads SolarReserve’s business development efforts, engaging with Governments, large industrial customers and utilities on opportunities to deploy SolarReserve’s proprietary solar thermal technology with molten salt energy storage. His experience in renewable energy project development, and deep connections to Government and industry led to SolarReserve successfully contracting its first project in Australia – the Aurora Solar Energy Project, a 150MW project contracted to the South Australian Government in 2017.

Daniel Thompson joined SolarReserve from Verve Energy, Western Australia’s largest electricity generator, where he held the role of Manager Sustainable Development. In this role Thompson led a team of Engineers and Project Managers in the development of utility-scale wind and solar projects for the company. Thompson was instrumental in the development of the on-grid Mumbida wind farm and Grasmere wind farm; and the off-grid Hopetoun, Rottnest Island, and Coral Bay wind/diesel systems. Prior to this, Thompson was a renewable energy Project Manager for Verve Energy and for Western Power Corporation, Western Australia’s electricity transmission network service provider.

Thompson currently holds two Board positions. He is a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Ararat Wind Farm, a 240MW wind farm operating in Victoria; and a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Sapphire Wind Farm, a 270MW wind farm under construction in New South Wales.

Thompson received a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering with honors from Curtin University of Technology in Western Australia, completing his final year thesis on renewable energy hybrid systems. He is a Member of the Institute of Engineers Australia and is a Certified Professional Engineer. Thompson was a 2007 recipient of a prestigious Winston Churchill Memorial Fellowship, awarded to enable him to study off-grid renewable energy hybrid power systems in the USA, Canada, Norway, France and the UK.